ANNOUNCEMENTS: June 29, 2017

June 21, 2017 5:00 am0 commentsViews: 29

ANNOUNCEMENTS-img-WEBKate Clinton to be Honored by LPAC

LPAC, the national grassroots lesbian political action committee supporting pro-LGBTQ and pro-women’s equality candidates, is hosting its second annual benefit comedy show. This year’s show will feature some of the top LGBTQ women’s comics today, including Janine Brito, Erin Foley, Dana Goldberg, Brittani Nichols, Renée Santos, DeAnne Smith and Marsha Warfield.

LPAC will honor emcee Kate Clinton (who will also headline the event) for her many contributions to LGBTQ, women’s and social justice campaigns and causes throughout her career. Former Late Show with David Letterman executive producer and showrunner Barbara Gaines is producing the show again this year, and award-winning cartoonist and author Alison Bechdel has designed this year’s original event poster.

LPAC-Levity-&-Justice-for-All-2“As we continue to battle the hostile Trump Administration and conservative forces in Congress and state legislatures across the country, the work of electing champions for LGBTQ women has never been more important,” said Beth Shipp, LPAC Executive Director. “We face unprecedented legislation and executive actions at the national and local level that would overturn the gains made on LGBTQ equality, women’s rights, racial and social justice. Levity & Justice for All 2 will shine a spotlight – through fun and humor – on our work to elect candidates who will be outspoken champions for LGBTQ women and our families.”

This is the second annual comedy benefit for LPAC, which will kick-off Pride Week in New York City, with a community gathering specifically for the politically inclined LGBTQ women. “Levity & Justice For All 2” will take place at Caroline’s (1626 Broadway, New York, NY) on June 22. Funds raised will be used for political education, organizing, and mobilization efforts to support LPAC endorsed candidates and build lesbian political power. For information on event sponsorship and benefit tickets, contact [email protected]

LPAC builds the political power of lesbians and queer women by electing candidates who champion LGBT rights, women’s equality, and social justice. Founded in 2012 by experienced leaders in feminist, LGBTQ, and social justice movements, LPAC has raised $2.1 million dollars from more than 1,500 donors across 48 states and the District of Columbia. LPAC has invested $1.5 million in 80 races and independent expenditure campaigns throughout the country, and used the balance of its funds to organize, convene, network and build the political power of LGBTQ women. Learn more at TeamLPAC.com.


29th Annual Lambda Literary Award Winners Announced  

Lambda Literary, the nation’s leading organization advancing lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender (LGBT) literature, announced the winners of the 29th Annual Lambda Literary Awards (the “Lammys”) at a ceremony hosted by multi-genre artist Justin Vivian Bond at NYU Skirball Center for the Performing Arts in New York City. The ceremony brought together attendees, sponsors, and celebrities to celebrate excellence in LGBT literature and 29 years of the groundbreaking literary awards.

Mx Justin Vivian Bond

Mx Justin Vivian Bond

“Authors putting words in order artfully and with thought is a revolutionary thing in the climate we are living in,” said Bond upon opening the ceremony. “I want to congratulate everyone who’s nominated tonight. We’re here to celebrate you for the gift you have given us with your artistry.”

One of the Middle East’s most celebrated voices, Rabih Alameddine won in the Gay Fiction category for his novel The Angel of History (Grove Press). Set over the course of a night, Alameddine’s book follows a Yemeni-born poet as he revisits the events of his life, from his upbringing to his life as a gay Arab man in San Francisco at the height of the AIDS epidemic. In Lesbian Fiction, Nicole Dennis-Benn won for her debut Here Comes the Sun (Liveright), a novel with a cast of unforgettable Jamaican women who battle for independence while a maelstrom of change threatens their village.

Jacqueline Woodson and Jeanette Winterson were also honored for their lifetime achievements. Tony-Award-winning actress Cynthia Nixon introduced Woodson, a “writer who is part of the institution but stands outside it and critiques,” said Nixon. “She is the writer, the friend, the citizen these times demand.” Accepting the Visionary Award, Woodson noted, “The work we do as a queer community for the generations beyond us make me proud to be standing here and accept this award.”

Later, author A.M. Homes introduced Jeanette Winterson, who won the Trustee Award. “A lifetime achievement award is more than overdue for Jeanette,” said Homes. During her acceptance speech, Winterson praised the powers of writers and imagination. “Everything that happens starts with an idea,” said Winterson. “We should protect and expand the imagination: to imagine the world as different than it is.”

Other winners of the night included David France for How to Survive a Plague: The Inside Story of How Citizens and Science Tamed AIDS (Knopf), a companion book to his award-winning documentary film, in LGBT Nonfiction. Activist Cleve Jones’ When We Rise: My Life in the Movement (Hachette Books) won in Gay Memoir/Biography. “I wrote this book because the LGBT movement saved my life,” said Jones as he accepted his award, “And I’m ready to keep fighting.”

“In a year of great political turmoil, the Lammys were a reminder that our LGBTQ writing community remains at the forefront of resistance to attacks on our communities,” said Tony Valenzuela, Lambda Literary Executive Director. “Congratulations to all the winners and honorees. You inspire us.”

As always, the Lammys brought out the stars from the worlds of film, television, theater, journalism, and literature. Presenters this year included Yale Series of Younger Poets judge Carl Phillips, Tony-Award-winning producer Vivek Toward, comedian Tig Notaro, Emmy-Award-winning actress Cynthia Nixon, and New York Times columnists Frank Bruni and Masha Gessen.

Lambda Literary believes lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer literature is fundamental to the preservation of our culture, and that LGBTQ lives are affirmed when our stories are written, published, and read. LL’s programs include: the Lambda Literary Awards, the Writers Retreat for Emerging LGBTQ Voices, Lambda LitFest Los Angeles, LGBTQ Writers in Schools, and our web magazine The Lambda Literary Review at LambdaLiterary.org. For more information call 323.643.4281 or e-mail [email protected]